The Dream of Rectifying Education Inequities

Written by Jasmine D. Gary 

When I graduated high school, I was fourth in my class, tied with another classmate with a 3.9 GPA. I worked very hard to excel at my college preparation courses and even remember speaking with the guidance counselor about taking AP courses that could strengthen my college future applications. Unfortunately, the counselor told me that the school doesn’t provide AP courses because there wouldn’t be enough students to enroll in such high level courses. If I wanted to do higher level course work, there’s was an opportunity for dual courses with the local community college; however, that option conflicted with my out of school internship with the city’s prosecutor’s office (my future career at the time).

That conversation was pushed to the side for a few years and didn’t come to mind until my freshman year in college. I was accepted into a state university…

View original post 891 more words

Leave a Reply

