Fighting the Good Fight: Is There a Place for Activism in Academia?

Wonderful article. I am not in STEM, but as a student and faculty member in a college department, I feel the need to bring these things up because so many of my students could have been Mike Brown, and still could be. What can we do? What do you feel is appropriate?

Fannie Lou Hamer hands up

Photo of Mississippi voting activist Fannie Lou Hamer, June 1963.

Written by Dr. Erika E. Alexander

“But you see now baby, whether you have a ph.d., d.d. or no d, we’re in this bag together. And whether you are from Morehouse or Nohouse, we’re still in this bag together.” — Fannie Lou Hamer

With the recent death of Michael Brown in Ferguson, Missouri, and the subsequent civilian protests and militarization of the Ferguson Police department, I’ve been feeling a type of way. I’m feeling tired and sad. I’m thankful that I get to hug my own Michael Brown every day, but afraid that at any moment that privilege could be taken away. But most of all, I’m frustrated. Frustrated that unarmed black people keep getting killed by police and vigilantes, and then slandered in the media. Frustrated that 50+ years have passed since the civil rights movement, and I will…

View original post 860 more words

Leave a Reply

